I follow many group discussions on GoodReads, with most of them having to do with good reviews, how to write good reviews, bad reviews and how to word them nicely (when I’m writing a bad review on a book, I always try and find or say something positive about the book). I think it is important to have a wide range of reviews. I know for myself when I am looking for a book to read, I always look at a mixture of reviews. It helps me to get a better understanding of the novel, and it makes it easier for me to decide if I want to read it.

 

There have been some books I have read based solely on negative reviews because I wanted to see if it was as bad as it was rated (It was). Since I knew of several of the mistakes that were present in the book, I actually had fun reading it. I discovered it actually had a good plot and characters it was the editing that was just not done! I think bad reviews, if they are honest and state reasons why you don’t like certain parts in a book, or the plot, or the characters, are as important as good reviews. I think a range of reviews gives the reader a better understanding of what they are likely to find in the novel.

 

I think that authors also benefit from both good reviews and bad reviews. I know it is hard for anyone to accept criticism  about anything, I think accepting criticism for artistic work must be even harder. It takes a lot of courage for people to put themselves out in the limelight for everyone to view, and that is what authors do with their work. I think they can  use the criticism and use it constructively to help in their future endeavors or on the one that was given the bad review.

 

If Amazon is to use the review section the way it was intended, then why would they be removing bad reviews? Of course, I couldn’t look at the reviews as they have been deleted so perhaps there is more to this then what is being said. Perhaps the reviews were just a rant against the author, or perhaps they had bad language. There are many reasons why reviews get deleted, it sure would be interesting to find out!

 

I have not had any of my own reviews deleted and I do use some harsh criticisms on some of the books I have reviewed. But I do make sure to back up what I am saying with examples from the novel.  And I always make sure to note that my review is about the book, not the author.

 

Here is the thread from Amazon…check it out and let me know what you think.

 

Is Amazon removing bad review?

 

 

