The Red Church (Sheriff Frank Littlefield, #1)

The Red Church (Sheriff Frank Littlefield #1)  by Scott Nicholson

 

 

 

Ronnie Day, 13 year old son of David and Linda Day and older brother to his annoying little brother Tim, has a brain, likes to read and suffers from an overactive imagination. His little brother drove him crazy, his parents were always fighting now, or at least when his father came back to the house they were, and he had to pass by the old red church twice every day to and from school. Ronnie wishes he could be like other kids and not be afraid of the old red church but he swears he can feel someone or something always there, waiting. Just what its waiting for Ronnie’s not sure and he doesn’t want to know.

 

 

 
On the walk home from school, as they’re passing the red church, Tim falls behind Ronnie. Ronnie doesn’t want to go back and see what’s keeping  him. But as Tim insists, Ronnie slowly makes his way back, getting more and more uneasy as he sees that Tim has left the road and is at the old cemetery that sits near the church.

 

 

 
Ronnie’s imagination is taking flight when Tim’s find of a girlie magazine brings him back down to ground. Trying to think of a way to outsmart Tim to get the magazine for himself at first he is unaware of movement from behind him. When a bloody hand reaches out to grab his ankle, Ronnie takes flight, shouting for his little brother to run too.
Sherrif Littlefield hates the red church and has never liked going there. Years before, one Halloween,  when Sherrid Littlefield was a teenager he watched his little brother die here at the church. He’s never told anyone what he really saw as he knows no one will believe him, in fact he’s always wondered if he really saw what he did.

 

 

 
With the gruesome discovery in the old cemetery, Barkerville‘s sheriff Frank Littlefield is worried. Worried and scared. Is there a killer loose in his county or is it something more? Something black and evil? Something not of this world…

 

 

 
Several years ago horror novels were what I read the most. After reading a series of less than good novels from this genre, I got away from them. I decided to take a chance on this one because after reading a sample chapter I thought hmmm maybe this one will be the one that rekindles my interest in horror novels. It has!

 

 

 
I really enjoyed the pace of this book, the build up to the final confrontation kept me reading. The characters were well fleshed out and  believable. I stayed up late by myself, even my dog had gone off to bed, and this book had me checking behind me when I finally made my way off to sleep. For me I found it very reminiscent of an early Stephen King or Dean Koontz novel. I would definitely recommend this one to anyone who likes to be frightened.

