I have a soft spot in my heart for Children’s Literature. I have the series of “Little House” series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I have the Nancy Drew series that was revamped and updated in the ’70’s, same with the Hardy Boys and Tom Swift series. Over the years, I have managed to find some of all these titles dating back to the early 1930 and the are in excellent shape. I also have quite a collection of younger children books, which my granddaughter loves. A few days ago, my husband surprised me with an early birthday present (he kind of had to give it to as I kept asking him what was in the box hehe). I was thrilled to see the 1955 The Children’s Classics 9 volume set in leather. Wow, what a surprise! I have been looking for that set in this condition for ages

 

 

 

 

They were so well cared for they actually came in the original mailing box from the person who has initially ordered them. They are made from leather, and are in amazing shape. They have both black and white illustrations and also 4 color plates each. They are just beautiful!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When the original owner bought them, he kept them in the original box that they came in. When the books were sent along to me he included the original box with the tags

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I look forward to reading all these old classics Treasure Island, Robinson Crusoe, Black Beauty, Kidnapped, Dickens’ Stories about Children, Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, Tales from Shakespeare, Heidi and Robin Hood (my hero)

 

