My husband’s job requires that he work long hours, many weeks he works six days straight. That leaves me with a lot of time to read and of course take Simon, my blue mini dachshund out for nice long walks. Except when it’s raining…he thinks he’s the wicked witch from the west and will melt if water gets on him!

 

 

 

I was reading the book

 

 

 

Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog

Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World’s Worst Dog by John Grogan

 

 

 

As I was reading along the book, it came to a very moving part of the story and I had started to cry (yes I’m a big softie) and Simon came running over, licked my tears and then grabbed the book and and tried to hide it in his bed. He’s never touched one of my books before, and believe me I have piles of books everywhere!  Needless to say, Simon gets very anxious when I am reading a sad story.

 

 

 

Now Simon did like the children’s book

 

 

 

J.P. Trouble

J.P. Trouble by Ryan Hill

 

 

 

My granddaughter was spending the night and she, Simon and I were reading the story together. Jolie loves the book and claps and laughs when you read it to her and it has beautiful illustrations. Simon gets so excited when Jolie is happy and clapping that he does his happy dance. He runs in a really tight circle and then jumps straight up. Hard to describe as with his body shape it looks terribly funny! And now when Jolie spends the night, she wants Simon to sleep in with her.

 

 

 

Remember, if you or anyone you know is thinking of a pet, check out your local animal shelters. We have a great one here it’s the  Nanaimo, SPCA.

 

 

 

 

