THANK YOU TO ALL THE BOOK ILLUSTRATORS!

While browsing at local Nanaimo  book stores, or online at GoodReads, LibraryThing, or Amazon, if I am not looking for a particular book, the first thing to attract me is the book cover.

Dark Genesis (The Darkling Trilogy, Book 1).
Dark Genesis (The Darkling Trilogy, Book 1).   is one of those. I prefer a physical paper book that I can hold in my hands, but there are times when I look for a good eBook. When I saw the cover for Dark Genesis, it drew me immediately. After reading the synopsis, I requested a review copy from A. D. Koboah. The book lived up to the book cover. (My review will be posted soon.)

And children’s books rely heavily on the book illustrators.

J.P. Trouble J.P. Trouble by Ryan Hill  The illustrator of this book, Stacy Evans, did a fantastic job of bring each pages words out in a beautiful, colorful drawing. They were bold, whimsical and helped to tell the story.

Other times, though, I have been misled by the cover art, in that it really has little to do with the book.Virgin Heat Virgin Heat by Laurence Shames I thought this would have something to do with pets gone wild, wrong! I don’t remember any where in this book anything about any kitten, certainly not one surrounded by fire!

Now this is bad cover art. Dead Until Dark (Sookie Sta... Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, #1) by Charlaine Harris.  I really don’t like to say anything bad, but this looks like a child drew this. I don’t know, maybe one did. And if that’s the case, nice job, otherwise it looks bad! Now I know its wrong to judge a book by its cover, but looking at this one, I have no interest in this book at all. And that I think is really sad. I don’t know how many books I’ve passed up over the years simply because the cover art is bad.

Now that I’m a little older and hopefully??? wiser, when I’m looking for a particular genre, like horror writer extraordinaire Stephen King   The Stand

I try not to let the cover art sway me into taking a book or leaving it, just on that basis.

Good or bad, thank you to all the illustrators out there! Even if I don’t like the book cover art, I appreciate your hard work and the time you put into your work.

